CFAH SCIENTIFIC ADVISORY BOARD – VHIO – Vall d'Hebron Institute of Oncology


Established in the Fall of 2011, VHIO’s Scientific Advisory Board, comprised of the following 10 renowned experts within the oncology field, will undoubtedly help VHIO to further deliver on its mission of developing and advancing translational research of excellence:

Carlos L. Arteaga, MD (Chair)

  • Donna S. Hall Chair in Breast Cancer
  • Professor of Medicine and Cancer Biology
  • Associate Director of Clinical Research, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, Nashville, USA

René Bernards, PhD

  • Head of Molecular Carcinogenesis, The Netherlands Cancer Institute, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Julio E. Celis, PhD

  • Scientific Director, Institute of Cancer Biology, Danish Cancer Society, Copenhagen, Denmark

Andrés Cervantes, MD, PhD

  • Associate Professor of Medicine, Head of Section of the Hematology and Medical Oncology Department, University Hospital of Valencia, Valencia, Spain

Fortunato Ciardiello, MD, PhD

  • Full Professor of Medical Oncology, Head of Experimental Therapeutics, the Division of Medical Oncology, Seconda Universitá di Napoli, Naples, Italy.

Stanley B. Kaye, MD, FRCP, FRCR

  • Head of the Drug Development Unit and Head of the Section of Medicine, The Royal Marsden Hospital and The Institute of Cancer Research, London, UK

Carlos López Otín, PhD

  • Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Oviedo, Spain

Richard Marais, PhD

  • Director, Paterson Institute for Cancer Research, Manchester, UK

Jorge Reis-Filho, MD, PhD

  • Physician-Scientist and Lab Leader, Human Oncology & Pathogenesis Program, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (MSKCC),  New York, USA

Jesús San Miguel Izquierdo, MD

  • Scientific Director, Salamanca Institute of Biomedical Research, Salamanca, Spain